Using Google Docs in Drama

I recently started a project based learning project with @malynmawby. If you don’t follow her you must! She is a fabulous educator with lots of great ideas. Visit her Love2Learn blog.

One idea or tool rather that Malyn introduced me to was Google Docs. This is seriously THE BEST web tool I have come across in ages.

Essentially Google Docs is one core document (this could be anything from a Word document to an Excel spreadsheet) that can be accessed and edited by more than one personat the same time via the web obviously.

Why, you ask, is it the best web tool in ages? Because I think it is absolutely perfect for any kind of collaborative script building in Drama and it’s such a simple way to incorporate ICT into Drama lessons. It’s like every Drama Teacher’s scriptwriting nightmares have all been cured at once!

When I was working on my PBL project with Malyn I was totally tripped out by the fact that I could see her typing onto the document whilst I watched on my screen. Likewise for her I’m sure. Malyn had set up the document and allocated sharing and ownership rights. This feature allows you to control who views and edits the document.

What I also liked was the comments function. Malyn had left me little “virtual post-it notes” on the side of the document that I could reply to when I had made the adjustments in the document which made it easy for Malyn to reference exactly where I had made changes and how I had addressed her initial notes. We didn’t have to be online at the same time to work on it but it’s pretty cool when you are!

Anyway, throughout the whole experience I just had visions of lots of little playwrights in my Drama class collaborating on their DER laptops, all their little ideas planting roots into the ground to make a big strong tree :-) They were all working on one version of the document that could either then be emailed as a final copy to me, posted on Edmodo and even, if they so desired included me in the sharing and viewing rights so I could see what they were all doing, add suggestions and offer advice.

I’ve included the YouTube instructional clip and simply encourage you to visit Google Docs yourself and have a play or introduce it into your Faculty because I think it has enormous potential not just for student’s but teachers also (programming anyone?)

Note: I’ve since heard that Google Docs is blocked to student’s on the DER laptops. If you are keen to experiment with this tool in your classroom I strongly urge you to contact Tech Support to get it unblocked.

Image Credit: Knots of Time / Sabrina Mae / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Thoughts?

