Reflections on TeachMeet Sydney

I did something spontaneous recently. I signed up to the TeachMeet Sydney wiki and signed myself up to attend TeachMeet Sydney on Tuesday 6th September.

Since participating in the Kick Start Your Blogging Challenge back in January as part of the free Professional Learning Edublogs provides users, I have connected with many teachers through Twitter. I was unaware at that point that they actually have TeachMeets all around NSW! TeachMeet Sydney was an opportunity to meet many of the people I had connected with over Twitter for the first time…

…and I’m so glad I did🙂

TeachMeet has a really great format: two blocks of three 7 minute presentations and two 2 minute presentations about anything teaching related. The presentations are streamed over the internet and can be followed on Twitter using the hashtag #tmsydney.

These presentations aim to connect participants with new ideas to use in their classroom. The great part is that at the end of the presentations there is an informal time in which participants can just connect and chat with each other about their schools and their ideas.

I was a little apprehensive at first I must admit but I have to say I’ve not met a more welcoming bunch of people in such a long time. The best part about it is putting faces to the names and tweets you see each night online. It was kind of like meeting long lost friends who are just incredibly accepting and supportive of what you do.

Since creating a PLN and connecting with other teachers worldwide on Twitter I have felt better supported and positive about the work that I do in the classroom each day. It stimulates my creativity, gives me hope and makes me feel valued.

If you’re feeling isolated in your school or are simply looking for a network of teachers to connect with I strongly recommend Twitter and attending a TeachMeet meeting near you.

Go HERE to find out more about TeachMeet in your local area.

For some fabulous educators to connect with, try some of these great people I met on Tuesday: @EduSum, @townesy77, @7Mrsjames, @whartonag, @Poska, @cpaterso, @henriettaMi, @betchaboy, @ajep, @mylescarrick, @FionaR_B, @malynmawby

9 Comments

  1. Lovely to meet at last too Karla. Glad you finally made it after the train was delayed. Great you could stay for the teacheat as well. Chat more next time. Have you been to NBCS? They have one in October. Worth going! Your blog is awesome by the way- have been viewing and forwarding on your tweets from my phone and haven’t yet had a chance to view on my laptop. LOVE🙂 Well done dudess!

  2. Pingback: Love2Learn - TeachMeet – a first-timer’s experience

  3. Great to catch up and add you to my pln. For me too teachmeets, twitter and all that goes with it stimulates by creativity and gives me energy. Look forward to catching up at another #tmsydney somehwere.

Thoughts?

