What’s Your Teaching Goal in 2012?

As many NSW teachers prepare for their first day of teaching on Monday (I know many of you are half-way through your teaching year) I thought I’d ask the question, what is one thing you’d like to achieve professionally this year with your class/es?

I am a big believer in goal setting both personally and professionally because it provides a focus in which to keep you fresh, innovative, creative and on your toes throughout the year. There is no chance of getting stale. That is one of my biggest fears in teaching. The minute I start doing the same thing year after year and not questioning it or changing it then I know I shouldn’t be teaching anymore.

This year I’d like to do a couple of things:

  • Experiment with social media as a performance medium;
  • Sit on an interview panel;
  • Host a TeachMeet;
  • Provide TPL to my staff on blogging and PLN’s;
  • Lead a team to put on the first musical at my school;
  • Continue to find new and interesting ideas for my programs.

As with every goal it is a good idea to think about the steps you need to take to achieve it and a realistic time frame in which to achieve it.

Over to you. I would love to hear what you have planned this year with your student’s.

Image Credit: Goal’s! / duncan c / CC BY-NC 2.0

4 Comments

  1. It is so exciting for me to read that one of your goals is to hold a TeachMeet this year. Good luck with getting this off the ground. I am convinced that this kind of grass roots PD is the best type. Check out our new website for more help on forthcoming TeachMeets http://www.teachmeet.net
    And as a fellow teacher who understands the need to look after oneself, keep eating well, exercising and enjoying those massages!

  2. Pingback: TeachMeet Drama « Drama Teacher's Network

  3. Pingback: Those Magic Changes – Grease 2012: A Retrospective « Drama Teacher's Network

Thoughts?

