52 Plays in 52 Weeks: Week 11

Dags by Debra Oswald

I’ve been going through a bit of a rough patch lately in that I’ve had a bunch of plays recommended to me to read but I’m just not in a position at the moment to buy any.  The trouble is as well that because they have to ship from overseas they take a while to get here so I’m having to find things to tie me over until the ones I have ordered do get here.

I decided to read Dags with my Year 10 English class. It was in the book room and I’d never really read it all the way through before. It’s considered somewhat of a classic in the Drama world because of the many sections within the play that have been used as female monologues for auditions. I remember it was a piece you could perform at your NIDA audition! Now that I’ve read the whole play it’s easy to see how possible it is to tie a number of sections together to create a 6-8minute piece. There are also enough stage directions to really play around with the theatricality and dynamics of the performance.

Dags is the story of Gillian and her struggle in high school with friends and boys. It’s an accessible play for teenagers because it is something they can relate to. It’s a performance that lends itself to an over the top, comedic performer but there’s a sensitivity there as well that could really show off a student’s acting skills.

A really cute, fun read. So many choices! What to read next?

Image Credit: Untitled / Gustavo Gomes / http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/

2 Comments

Thoughts?

