Fantastic Find: monologuedb.com

I’m in the process of preparing my Year 9 students for an upcoming performance. It is a selection of “monologue moments.” I wanted to use it as an opportunity to direct my first piece that had something more of a refined directorial vision than the mish mash pieces I’ve put together in the past.

The theme for the concert is “colour.” I wanted my directorial concept to explore movies that had colours in the title and the characters and moments within them. I initially began searching for movies with colours in the title to see if I could find short monologues from them. Things like The Colour Purple, Pretty in Pink and The Thin Red Line. It was harder than I thought to find pieces online until I stumbled on this website monologuedb.com

It has a great selection of very short, monologues, no more than 3 minutes or so. In the end I decided to go with “movie moments” as my theme rather than “colour” because it really was proving harder than I thought. The kids have responded really well to the monologues I chose for them because a) they suit their personality (and for a first monologue I do think that’s important in order to encourage a sense of success) and b) they know the movies that they are from which means they know how they are supposed to sound and at this stage you want them to be emulating tone and facial expression to get them comfortable with working with scripts and standing up on stage alone.

Definitely worth checking out.

1 Comment

Thoughts?

