Start Your Term with Awesome

December 2013 020

A colleague of mine got me on to this Ted Talk at the end of last year.

I was looking for something to show my Year 12 cohort. I had been their Year Adviser since Year 7 and made the agonising decision to accept a transfer position at a new school meaning I wouldn’t be with them in their last three terms of Year 12.

If you ever have the opportunity to become a Year Adviser I highly, highly recommend it. It changed my outlook on teaching and aside from my love of Drama teaching, it is the other part of education I am extremely passionate about: student well-being and welfare.

It has been difficult for me to write about this transition phase in my teaching career so I simply haven’t. In the last few years, being a Year Adviser to this group of students became very significant for me personally. Whilst so many factors tell me it is the right time for the change, there is a plethora of other feelings that I still struggle with.

Now on the precipice, preparing to dive into my new school I want to remind myself, but also you, of something I believe very strongly and always share with my students. That they are awesome, that you are awesome and that we should always aim to be awesome.

I think Neil Pasricha sums it up beautifully and I feel so lucky to have been able to share this with my lovely students. If you need a pick me up during the term I highly recommend Neil’s blog 1000 Awesome Things.

Photo Credit: Always Awesome, karlao, December 2013.

2 Comments

  1. You’re an absolute inspiration! Your students love you so much and they know they’re awesome because you believe in them🙂
    Good luck at your new school Karla! We’re going to miss you terribly!
    Michelle xoxo

Thoughts?

