Quick Ideas for Physical Theatre, Inspired by Soccer Players!

Hello loyal followers. Long time no write.

I apologise.

It has been one hectic year and I haven’t been able to prioritise the blog as much as I would like. Ah, the joys of starting at a new school.

I have a stack of posts I want to write and hopefully as the year winds down and we head into summer break here in Australia, I can catch up and get some new material out. I have a heap of stuff I would like to share and have been meaning to for some time.

Having said that, I was sitting down watching television the other night after a long day at work and one of the segments was about the creative ways soccer players celebrate after they shoot a goal. I thought to myself, “These clips are brilliant for my Year 9 Drama class.” They really are an excellent way to show how to use the body to tell a story or make an object. They could be a great way to start off a lesson or link in when you are talking about movement and using your bodies to make shapes etc.

Below are a just a few that I thought were pretty good but if you have a bit of a search around YouTube there are plenty more.

1. The Fish Celebration

 

2. The Rowing Celebration

 

3.  The Swimming Celebration

 

4. The Grenade Celebration

 

3 Comments

  1. Hi Karla,
    These videos are funny. I didn’t realize they celebrated goals with such theatrics.Very fun! I bet your grade 9 students really enjoyed trying their hand at this physical theater.

    Have a great summer vacation!

    Denise

Thoughts?

