How We’re Celebrating Shakespeare 400

Shakespeare

This year marks 400 years since Shakespeare’s death. A huge cultural initiative has been running for the past year in all parts of the world to remind people of and to celebrate the significance of this great man’s work. I thought it was important that we do something at school to acknowledge this also. As with the many ideas I have they get big and out of hand and I really need to scale them back.

This year I found a simple way to celebrate all these fabulous works that I thought I would share with you. Perhaps you might like to do something similar or share your ideas/celebrations in the comments.

We started with a short speech at assembly and I showed a really lovely 6 minute clip from the National Theatre about their performances of Shakespeare over the years. It was probably slightly better suited to the senior kids than the juniors but I still think it captured the essence and beauty of his works.

At the assembly I asked for anyone who would like to present a short scene, monologue or duologue as part of the ongoing celebrations. We have our assemblies fortnightly so afterwards I fielded a few offers to present and I lined up a short five minute item for each fortnightly assembly. It is quite reliant on the kids doing most of the development but they do have to show me their ideas/performance prior to presenting it at assembly. So far we’ve got a sonnet reading and a monologue from Julius Caesar. We only have about 4-5 assemblies a term so hopefully I’ll get a couple more before the end. If not, I’m glad that I got a couple with which to continue the celebrations.

How are you celebrating? Share them in the comments below. 

4 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for all the worthwhile info. on drama and happy 400 years anniversary for the great dramatist of all times.William Shakespeare!. I live in Papua New Guinea and at the moment we are working on a Romeo and Juliet..in the year 11 literature – Drama. I wish to have a script and a video on romeo and juliet to use as sample for my students. IF i ca be assisted , i would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks. Bronyaslava K

    Arts Teacher-Tabubil Secondary School-PNG.

    On Tue, May 17, 2016 at 6:23 PM, Drama Teachers Network wrote:

    > karlao posted: ” This year marks 400 years since Shakespeare’s death. A > huge cultural initiative has been running for the past year in all parts of > the world to remind people of and to celebrate the significance of this > great man’s work. I thought it was important tha” >

Thoughts?

